Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Catch Bees

Catch Bees has joined the On Joyful Wings records family! Catch Bees is the solo project from Philip Waggoner and we are delighted to have him on board. Catch Bees has an album that is going to be coming out on March 3rd, 2011 titled 'Newman's Open Choir'. You can download one single from this album entitled 'Wild Beasts' for free here, and you can stream the song 'Atlanta (featuring Denison Witmer) here

We are honored to have Catch Bees apart of our family and hope everyone will join us in welcoming him and share the love.

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Where's Abraham?

We wanted to quickly address the question that many people undoubtedly have; "Why did we leave Abraham off the compilation?"

Let us say that we never intended to release this album without one of Sufjan's great tracks. Unfortunately, things happened that we could not control. We kept pressing on with the hopes that everything would work out, ultimately we were wrong.

What we have decided is that we would put out what we have, and as soon as "Abraham" is all set, we will post that for free on bandcamp to allow anyone who has purchased the album to download the final track.

As this is being typed, we are in talks with some very talented musicians to get this track recorded and into your hands as soon as possible. Everyone who has purchased the album will receive an email informing them when the track is ready for download.

Thank you all for your understanding, and we sincerely apologize for any disappointment this may have caused.

Saturday, March 5, 2011

The Artwork

Just received the cover art for Seven Swans Reimagined. Absolutely beautiful!! Thanks to the wonderfully talented Vesper Stamper for this incredible piece! Check out more of her artwork at www.vespersongs.com

Saturday, November 13, 2010


1. All The Trees Of The Field Will Clap Their Hands [Bonnie 'Prince' Billy]
2. The Dress Looks Nice On You [The Gregory Brothers]
3. In The Devil's Territory [Derek Webb]
4. To Be Alone With You [Joshua James]
5. Abraham [Denison Witmer]
6. Sister [Unwed Sailor]
7. Size Too Small [Wakey!Wakey!]
8. We Won't Need Legs To Stand [Elin K. Smith]
9. A Good Man Is Hard To Find [DM Stith]
10. He Woke Me Up Again [Half-Handed Cloud]
11. Seven Swans [Carl Hauck]
12. The Transfiguration [David Crowder*Band]
13. I Went Dancing With My Sister [Jason Harrod]
14. Waste Of What Your Kids Won't Have [Shannon Stephens with Gregory Paul]
15. Borderline [Inlets]

***artwork by Vesper Stamper***

Album will be available for download on March 22, 2011.
Please help us spread the word!

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Get On With It

We apologize for our lack of information on the new release, however we felt we needed to take a step away to figure out the best plan for getting information about the album out.

If you are new to the page you may be unaware with what is going on. In March of 2011, we will be releasing our 2nd charity album, entitled "Seven Swans Reimagination", which happens to be a song-by-song recreation of Sufjan Stevens' Seven Swans. We have found 15 amazing artists willing to donate their time and a song to this project, helping us cover the 12 album tracks and 3 b-sides from the album. As with the first album, all profits from the sale of this project will be donated to the Komen Breast Cancer Foundation.

Look for a full track-listing to be released this weekend. In the meantime, if you'd be so generous, please help us by spreading the word, and check out our facebook page to stay up to date.

peace and love

Friday, August 20, 2010

Raise Your Hands!

To my unexpected amazement, joy, etc I woke to find that Sufjan put out a new ep today. At the moment you can download this amazing [I've listened, it is amazing] ep on bandcamp. Includes a studio version of All Delighted People which you saw him perform on his writer's showcase tour last year; also included are 6 new songs. Worth the wait. Raise your hands!

Regarding the Seven Swans project we are working on, all songs are spoken for, some are even recorded. Right now, we have a tentative release date of March 15, 2011 but hopefully we can get this thing out even earlier. We also are looking at options to release a vinyl and Cd version so long as we can come up with the money down.

Beginning next week Tuesday, we will be revealing the tracklisting for this project. Starting with All The Trees Of The Field Will Clap Their Hands on August 31 and continuing through the b-side Borderline, we will feature one track each week along with a look at the artist covering said track. Stay tuned for that.

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

On Joyful Wings presents: Seven Swans Reimagined

In 2004, Sufjan Stevens took a break from his states project and released what, in my mind, is his greatest album to date, Seven Swans. When tossing around ideas of albums to cover, Seven Swans stood out amongst all the others. Described by one of the artists involved in this project as "essential and quietly strong", Seven Swans is one of those albums that reveals something new and different to each of us with every listen.

We have spent the last few months talking with Lenny Smith at Sounds Familyre Records, and Sufjan through him. With their help, we have been able to compile what we believe to be a very impressive and exciting group of artists.

On Joyful Wings presents: Seven Swans Reimagined will be released in March of 2011. We know that is a long ways away, we are looking into ways to make the time go faster. As before, proceeds from the sale of this album will be given to the Susan G Komen breast cancer foundation. We hope to have physical copies of the album available this year for those who still like to buy Cd's [like us]. Stay tuned to this blog as very shortly we will begin to release names of the artists involved. And if you don't own a copy, brush up on this amazing album by picking up a copy, or download it from iTunes.